logo light web

GCC Residents Closer to Enjoying Easy Travel Within Member States 

GCC Visa

Table of Contents

GCC Visa

Residents in GCC countries may soon enjoy simplified travel within the member states, thanks to a proposed single visa system. This could make traveling easier for everyone in the GCC.

GCC Visa

What's the Current Situation?

In the current situation, normally only the GCC nations can travel visa-free to the other UAE countries. Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, and Qatar are those countries making up the GCC. But when it comes to expatriates living in these countries, they are required to apply for a separate visa to travel from one to another. But, some nationalities get the privileges visa-free entry or Visa-on-arrival, but still it has to go through some process.

Exciting Times Ahead 

According to Abdulla Bin Touq Al Marri, the UAE Minister of Economy, this could all change very soon. During his speech at the Future Hospitality Summit in Abu Dhabi, he mentioned the possibility of introducing a pan-GCC single visa system. This means that residents from all GCC countries may soon be able to travel effortlessly within the member states. 

This is exciting news for anyone who enjoys exploring the diverse cultures, landscapes, and experiences the GCC region has to offer. Imagine visiting historical sites in Oman, enjoying the bustling city life of Dubai, and relaxing on the beautiful beaches of Bahrain, all without worrying about multiple visas. 

Similar to Schengen

Earlier this year, Bahrain’s tourism minister, Fatima Al Sairafi, revealed plans for a GCC-wide “Schengen-style” visa for tourists. The Schengen Agreement in Europe allows travelers to move freely within participating countries with a single visa. This proposed GCC system would work in a similar way, making travel smoother and more convenient. 

Fatima Al Sairafi also mentioned that ministerial-level discussions are already in progress, and the system could be launched “very soon.” That’s great news for all of us who dream of exploring the GCC’s wonders without the usual visa hurdles.

Benefits of a Unified Visa 

A representative from the UAE Ministry of Economy spoke about the advantages of this unified visa system. They mentioned that it would allow tourists to visit multiple countries without any restrictions, all under one comprehensive package. Just imagine how much easier this would make planning your next GCC adventure.


The GCC is considering a game-changing single visa system that could make travel within the member states much simpler and more enjoyable for residents and tourists alike. Stay tuned for more updates, and start planning your GCC travel Wishlist, because soon, it might be easier to fulfill than ever before!


What is the recent development for GCC residents regarding travel?

GCC residents are now closer to enjoying easier travel within member states, simplifying the process and enhancing mobility.

Which countries are included in the GCC?

The Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) includes Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates.

What benefits will GCC residents experience with this new development?

Residents will benefit from simplified travel procedures, potentially including reduced visa requirements and faster processing times at borders.

Compare listings